Croatia to become the next EU member

As of July 1, 2013, the European Union consists of 28 members, after the accession of Croatia.

For holders of CTMs (Community Trade Mark), registered before July 1, 2013, such registrations are automatically extended to be valid also in Croatia. Accession does not mean that formerly registered Croatian trademarks can be used as a basis for opposition or other actions against a registered CTM. However, an earlier Croatian trademark may be used as a basis for oppositions against a CTM if the CTM application is filed during the period of January 1 to July 1, 2013. Hereafter Croatian national trademarks stand on an even basis with the other member countries and their prior trademark registrations.

It should be noted that a Croatian national trademark registration, registered before July 1, 2013, may prohibit the use of a confusingly similar CTM registration in Croatia.

If you need further information, please get in touch with your regular contact or contact us by e-mail got [at] valea [dot] se, telephone +46 31 50 77 00.

Additional information is available at OHIMs website.

// Lena Ericsson