The Nobel Peace Prize 2015

The Nobel Peace Prize is decided by the Norwegian Nobel Committee. This year the prize is awarded to “The Tunisian Dialogue Quartet” for “its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in Tunisia in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011”. The organization is relatively young, only established in the summer of 2013. The prize is given to the quartet of the below four Tunisian organizations, not to any of the organizations as such:

The Tunisian Human Rights League

The Tunisian General Labour Union,

The Tunisian Confederation of Industry

Trade and Handcrafts

The Quartet was formed at a time of social unrest and when the then budding democratization process was at risk of collapsing. The Quartet has been instrumental in peaceful dialogue ending in peaceful and democratic elections taking place last summer. Their work is considered to be as close to Alfred Nobel’s will and intentions for this prize as is possible.

// Lena Ericsson